Not Worth My Salt


BGOBGAI! Quickie:

salt

Photo courtesy of renovatingyourmind.com

Being a man who, at times, feels like I’m not worth my salt, I thought it high time I find out what exactly that meant before I say something to which I’ll have to answer and not be ready.  Not worth my salt comes from a time in ancient Rome when a Roman Soldier was paid, in part, in salt rations.  As a matter of fact, the word “salary” comes from the Latin word “Salarium” which described the salt and money connection.

So to all the Bible knowledgeable folks out there, it does make me ask a question…When Lot and his family were fleeing Sodom and they were told not to look back, Lot’s wife looked back and was quickly punished by being turned into a pillar of salt. So, uh…was Lot really bummed because his wife died, or did he just win the blasphemy lottery and strike it rich?

Just askin’.

 

(Source: http://www.saltworks.us/salt_info/si_HistoryOfSalt.asp)

Leave a Reply

