Mad as a Hatter!


BGOBGAI Quickie:

Sometimes I feel like simply losing one’s mind is not such a bad thing.  I’ve been accused sometimes of having lost my mind, but sadly, I somehow always seem to find it.  It may be that I need a change of profession to match my insanity and I have one in mind.

hat

Photo courtesy of halloweencostumes.com

Have you ever heard of the phrase “Mad as a Hatter?” Well, this comes from the fact that in the eighteenth and nineteenth century, manufacturers of hats used the dangerous metal mercury.  All this is well and good except for the fact that mercury could cause severe dementia over time and would make people “go mad.”

Sadly, they no longer use mercury in that capacity any longer so my search for a home for my insanity continues.

Any ideas?

(Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mad_as_a_hatter)

Leave a Reply

