A Dog’s Life


I’ve been a dog owner and dog lover all my life.  We’ve had dogs ranging from Chihuahas to mutts being closer to their wolves ancestors than most would like. I’ve seen them in puppy form and I’ve been with them when they died. I know dogs.

    I completely abhor mistreatment of animals and will have words with any man who says it’s okay to do so. That being said, however, I don’t believe that treating dogs like Barbie dolls and allowing them to become completely personified is doing either master or dig any favors. 

   I will cite an perfect example.  My mother adopted a couple of Chihuahas from a shelter. Both had been abused in the past, and we were glad to adopt them as part of the family. The problem? One of them was prone to biting. Prone to biting anyone in their path.  The dog in question tried to bite me. Now I didn’t try to have a discussion with her about the unpopular gesture or the poor dental health that would result from biting a member of the masters family. No, I did what dog masters have done for centuries. I grabbed it by the scruff of the neck and held it up to the point that it was dangling.

      Sound inhumane? Not in the slightest. You see, dogs, no matter the species, have an intrinsic response to the action i performed. Obedience. Let’s remember how wolves, from which domesticated dogs evolved, dealt with their young. A mother would pick up its pup by the scruff of the neck to transport or remove a pup from harm or to discipline the young dog.

    The Chihuaha dog in question today is of perfect health and greets me with love and respect every time I visit.  We have a great relationship and the accepted roles of master and dog are understood.  That relationship established, feel free to give your dog every bit of your love and heart that they are more than willing to offer in return.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to fine that Zelda outfit to dress my puppy-wuppy in.

  Please tell me if you agree or disagree with me in the comments below. Trust me, I read them!

Leave a Reply

