TV No Longer Relevant?


Remember when the idea of “Appointment Television” actually meant something? Even before we had a trendy term for it, we made sure we were plopped down in front of the television to watch a show. Nowadays, though, with the advent of DVR, Netflix and Hulu, we just don’t feel the need to actually make the effort to watch a TV show when it is first aired.

              I come from the old school of television consumption. Heck, I remember having to be at the TV a few minutes before a program so we could not only change one of the 4 channels we had on the unit, but also to adjust the “rabbit ears” antenna so we could watch the program with as little static as possible. Only then were we able to watch a simple 30 minute episode of M*A*S*H*, and we were grateful to do it.

              My patience level today, however, has changed drastically. We live in a cord-cut household. We don’t have cable and we use an HD antenna for only things such as Academy Awards and watching our sports teams fail miserably at the most crucial moment in their respective seasons. That’s it. Everything else is watched through the use of Netflix, Hulu and YouTube. I simply don’t have the patience level anymore to go through commercials, which add so much time to a show broadcast. Thankfully we don’t have to deal with this anymore.

             Most of my TV viewing comes from YouTube. Admittedly, there is a lot of crap out there, but some good things, as well. One of my peculiar joys is watching people playing scary video games and losing their minds at every jump scare. Sad? Probably. Entertaining? Heck yeah! Plus, I can limit my search for content to clips of at most ten to twenty minutes. Anything other than that I tend to get bored with.

I realize that I’m just talking about myself…mostly. But surely I am not the only one who simply does not respond to “appointment television.” Are there any shows out there on network television that are worth making the effort to see at first release? Game of Thrones is about the only one I can think of, and I am dismissing reality television shows as a genre as a matter of principle.

What do you think? Are there any TV shows worth making the effort to see at initial showing? Be sure to drop a comment below to give me your thoughts.

Man Thinking Man thinking man

Leave a Reply

